top of page

KHSSL Directors

Years listed are the years of their state tournament service, usually in March or April. Most served the full year leading up to state and after. Please alert KHSSL of any corrections for this constructed timeline.


1920                           W. H. Mikesell

Still investigating this timeframe’s

history . . .

1935-1956                 Louis Clifton

1957-1970                 Denver Sloan

1971                          C. R. Hoger

1972-1979                Gifford Blyton

1980                          George Willenbrink

1981                          Marilyn Konrad

1982                          Julie Dodd

1983-1985                 Katherine C. Hume

1986-1987                 John Edwards

1988-1998                 Judy Woodring

1999                           David Almand

2000                           Sandra Schneider

2001-2004                 Greg Robertson

2005                           Jace Lux

2006-2007                 Chris Chandler

2008                           Jim Turner

2009                           Stacey Gish

2010                           Chris Medina

2011                           Hannah Reliford

2012-2017                 William Cooper

2018-19                     Run by KHSSL Board

                                         of Directors:

                    (2018)      Daniel Hamm, Chair

                    (2019)     Steve Meadows, Chair

2020-present            Steve Meadows


Executive Director

Steve Meadows serves as the KHSSL Executive Director and runs the day-to-day operations of the Kentucky High School Speech League. In addition to carrying out the mandates of the elected Board of Directors and assisting all member schools and coaches, he serves as the director of the three state tournaments and oversees the Regional Tournaments in coordination with the Regional Managers. 

Before taking on this role, Meadows coached Kentucky high school speech and debate teams for 28 years -- three years at Beechwood High and the last twenty-five at Danville High School.


His teams at Danville won nine state speech titles and a state debate title over the years, and he coached fifty-seven KHSSL State Champions. 


Meadows coached nineteen entries to NSDA or CFL National final rounds over the years including two CFL National Champions.


Mr. Meadows is the founder of SPEAK and earned many honors during his coaching career, including


2019 - National Speech and Debate Association 

            Hall of Fame

2011 - Kentucky High School Speech League 

             Hall of Fame


  • National Communication Association’s K-12 National Teacher of the Year (2016)

  • NSDA’s first Kentucky Teacher of the Year

  • Ralph E. Carey Award for Distinguished Career Service (NSDA)

  • Barkley Forum Gold Key Coach

  • George Mason University Mason Mentor

  • Five-Diamond Coach (NSDA)

He remains active with the NSDA as a member of the Kentucky District Committee and as the Co-Chair for Speech Tabulations at the NSDA National Tournament each year. 

bottom of page