Kentucky High School SPEEQH LEAG JE

25 March 2024 (revised 4/17/2024)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

KENTUCKY HIGH SCHOOL SPEECH LEAGUE STATE DEBATE TOURNAMENT RESULTS

Politician and minister Jesse Jackson once declared that "deliberation and debate is the way you stir the soul of our democracy." Kentucky's collective educational souls were stirred this past weekend at the University of Louisville during the Kentucky High School Speech League's 104th annual State Debate Tournament. Lexington's Paul Laurence Dunbar HS took top honors with Beechwood, Lexington Henry Clay, Owensboro, Louisville Assumption, and Louisville Highlands Latin named the top six teams. Beechwood's Logan Scisco was named Coach of the Year; Larry A. Ryle High School won the trophy for Sustained Excellence over time. Students competed in four preliminary rounds with the top four entries advancing to semifinals in Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate, Novice Lincoln-Douglas and Varsity Public Forum Debate; a round robin contest was held for the teams in Novice Public Forum. Sixteen Finalists advanced to the Congressional Debate SuperSession with honors awarded to the top six. Speaker awards for the top six performers in each of the Debate events were also given. Individual awards and placings for each of the five events are listed on the next pages. Additionally, at the ceremony Knott County Central High School's Sawyer Noe and Rowan County High School's Natalie Freidhof were named the winners of the annual Bale and Institute for Speech and Debate Scholarships for graduating KHSSL seniors. Special thanks go to Louisville Representative Daniel Grossberg for swearing in the Congressional Debaters and the Communications Department at U of L for hosting the meet.

The speech and debate season in Kentucky runs from October to January with 14 Regional Speech Tournaments held in February around the Commonwealth to qualify for State followed by State Junior Speech (grades 4-8), Senior Speech (grades 9-12), and Debate (grades 4-12) tournaments. Students compete in twenty speech, debate, and drama categories from Storytelling to Congressional Debate to Oratory in the speech and debate divisions.

KHSSL offers membership to all schools -- public, private, and homeschools -- serving students in grades 4-12 in Kentucky. With member schools from Paducah to Paintsville, Kentucky's oldest student activity trains students how to conduct themselves in public settings, how to successfully communicate ideas, how to empathize with others via character analysis, how to read critically and how to research properly with contests to encourage excellence and develop grit -- mind over chatter. For more information how to get your students and school involved, browse to www.khssl.org. For further information, contact KHSSL Executive Director Steve Meadows at khssl@khssl.org or 859-927-1100. He can also easily put you in touch with the coaches of local teams for quotes, etc.

TEAM SWEEPSTAKES (COMBINED SCORES)

1 st	Paul Laurence Dunbar HS	69 POINTS
2 ND	Beechwood HS	37 POINTS
2 ND	Henry Clay HS	37 POINTS
4^{TH}	Owensboro HS	18 POINTS
5 TH	Assumption HS	13 POINTS
6 TH	Highlands Latin School	12 POINTS

COACH OF THE YEAR: Logan Scisco, Beechwood HS

SUSTAINED EXCELLENCE AWARD: Larry A. Ryle HS

BALE/INSTITUTE FOR SPEECH AND DEBATE SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS:

Natalie Freidhof, Rowan County High School Sawyer Noe, Knott County Central High School

NOVICE LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE

1ST	AMAY XU	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
2 ND	RYLAN COLE	ATHERTON HIGH SCHOOL

SEMIFINALISTS:

AUDREY TRUE	ASSUMPTION HIGH SCHOOL
GAURI JOSHI	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL

TOP SPEAKERS

1 st	AMAY XU	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
2 ND	LEAH NORMAN	HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL
3 RD	AKSHAY NAYAKWADI	LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL
4 [™]	GAURI JOSHI	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
5 TH	REBECCA STANKIEWICZ	LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL
6 TH	RYLAN COLE	ATHERTON HIGH SCHOOL

VARSITY LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATE

1ST	DAVID DANIEL	OWENSBORO HIGH SCHOOL
2ND	AYESHA HAMID	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL

SEMIFINALISTS:

ANNIE MARASCO	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
TONY XU	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL

TOP SPEAKERS

1 st	DAVID DANIEL	OWENSBORO HIGH SCHOOL
2 ND	AYESHA HAMID	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
3 RD	ANNIE MARASCO	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
4 [™]	TONY XU	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
5 TH	EVELYN DYER	HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL
6 TH	KADEN BLANKENSHIP	OWENSBORO HIGH SCHOOL

P O BOX 23451 * LEXINGTON KY 40523 * KHSSL@KHSSL.ORG * (859) 927-1100 * www.khssl.org

NOVICE PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE

1ST	HANCOCK & CHEN
2ND	VAISH & ZHANG

SEMIFINALISTS:

FAN & EARHARDT FOREE & CLEMONS LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL

DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL GRACE JAMES ACADEMY

TOP SPEAKERS

1 st	CHRISTOPHER CHEN	LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL
2 ND	MATTHEW HANCOCK	LAFAYETTE HIGH SCHOOL
3 RD	MICHAEL FAN	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
4 [™]	SAMUEL MEKOH	DUNBAR SCHOOL
5 TH	ZOE ZHANG	DUNBAR SCHOOL
6 TH	JAZZMYN CLEMONS	GRACE JAMES ACADEMY

VARSITY PUBLIC FORUM DEBATE

1ST	KANG & PATEL	DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL
2ND	BREITIGAN & RAHMAN	HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL

SEMIFINALISTS:

HARSTINE & SHEPHERD	HIGHLANDS LATIN SCHOOL
DICAPUA & DODD	HIGHLANDS LATIN SCHOOL

TOP SPEAKERS

1 st	ZOE BREITIGAN
2 ND	MARIAM DODD

- 4TH HANNAH KANG
- 5TH YUSUF KAHLOON
- 6TH MAITRI PATEL

HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL HIGHLANDS LATIN SCHOOL HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL

CONGRESSIONAL DEBATE

1 st	JOSHUA ZYZAK	BEECHWOOD HIGH SCHOOL
2 ND	ALEJANDRA SAAVEDRA	BEECHWOOD HIGH SCHOOL
3 RD	CHRIS ROBERDEAUX	BEECHWOOD HIGH SCHOOL
4 TH	WINSTON FUGATE	HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL
5 TH	LEAH BUZARD	HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL
6 TH	CHAKRAPANI GUDLAVA	LETTI DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL

SUPER SESSION MEMBERS:

KAYA AMIN MATIAS ALVAREZ WILL BROWN ALISYN CALDWELL KYLE PALMER DEBRA SATTERLY BRENNAN STANSBURY AHAAN THOMAS GRACE WAINSCOTT ETHAN WEINRICH DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL RYLE HIGH SCHOOL HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL HAZARD HIGH SCHOOL HENRY CLAY HIGH SCHOOL HEBRON MIDDLE SCHOOL DUNBAR HIGH SCHOOL BEECHWOOD HIGH SCHOOL ATHERTON HIGH SCHOOL